2016 Vision Board

Hello 2016!  Have you ever gotten to October and realized you can’t even remember half of your New Years Resolutions?  I’m right there with you!  Weeks turn into months and the year just seems to get away from me before I can check off my goals and aspirations.  Priscilla Shirer says that often our dreams and goals are stolen from us in 20 minute segments of compromise. Well compromise no more!  Enter the Vision Board!  A vision board is a handy tool that helps you clarify, focus on and visually represent goals, dreams and intentions.  Follow along to make your own vision board for 2016!visionboardwhole

Step one: Find your vision

Visionboardjournal - Copy

To start, I recommend spending a few minutes journaling. Divide your life into categories and dream about what you would like those categories to look like in the next year. For me, I divided my life into 6 categories: Health & wellness, Financial, career, creativity & dreams, family and relationships & friendships.

Would you like to have your debt paid off?   What about starting that Etsy shop you’ve dreamed of?   How about that trip out West you’ve been putting off? Or what about simply (though this is no simple task in my case!) having a household that is always in order with the bed made and no dishes in the sink?

This step simply consist of dreaming and jotting down notes and goals for how you would like to see these dreams and aspirations in your life this next year

 

 

Step 2: Pick a theme for your year

I started my vision board with a Verse for the year, a motto for the year, and a word for the year. Towards the end of 2015 I realized my life was taking a drastic turn and I would be making some major changes this year.

To embody this, I prayerfully settled on the verse “blessed is she who has believes that what the Lord has said to her will be accomplished” (Luke 1:45)

In the same spirit, I realized I needed a word to hold on to when the going gets tough and after re-reading The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe I settled on the word Valiant after Queen Lucy the Valiant. Has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?

Lately I settled on my motto which is simply “Open Hands”. I want to live my life this year without clinging to anything. In the past I’ve lived with white-knuckled fists clinched so tightly, I was unable to receive all this life and the Lord had to offer. So this year I am living with open hands to give, to serve and to receive.

 

Step 3: Get crafting!

Because I wanted my board on display in my apartment where I would see it daily, I decided not to list my detailed, personal goals and dreams on it for the world to see. Instead, I picked a verse for each category to keep me centered and focused as well as giving me something specific to pray over each area of my life. Next I pulled out key words and phrases that would remind me of my goals, dreams and intentions for that area.

Then I invited a friend over to craft with me and we got started. We found these amazing gold-foiled patterned poster boards at Hobby Lobby as well as some cute card stock.  You could also cut pictures and words out of magazines, print pictures off the internet or draw and doodle your own designs.

I am a lefty and have terrible hand writing but still managed to creatively write out my verses thanks to some great pinterest tutorials.  Even #LillianPup got in on the crafting action!

IMG_1742

What you do with your board is completely up to you. Some people tuck them in a closet or under their bed, but I personally wanted mine out in the middle of my apartment so I would be reminded multiple times a day of the great things I’m expecting this year! Also remember, life changes and goals change, so feel free to change/add to your board throughout the year as new opportunities arise.  What are you waiting for?  Get your 2016 vision on!

Attachment-1

 

 

Leave a Reply

